Creating my header with Pixlr!

Using Pixlr to create my header was a short process of trial and error.  I’ve had little experience with photo editing software in the past, having used Photoshop in class in high school briefly.  I was familiar with the basic terms, such as layers and cropping but I had little experience actually putting those terms into practice.  I started with my banner by looking for an image of a road and putting a picture of Deathstroke on the road.  I chose this because I have been traveling to compete in fighting game tournaments for the past couple of years and the game that I have had the most success in is Injustice: Gods Among Us.  The character I use in that game is the DC Comics villain, Deathstroke, who the popular Marvel Comics character Deadpool is based off of.  I also threw on the title of the blog “The Road Warrior” on there as well in white text so that it is easy to read.  The part that I had the biggest trouble with was being able to find images that were appropriately sized for each other.  I had trouble when downscaling my completed image for the size of the header.  My images would get blurry and I would have a very low-res, pixilated Deathstroke on a ver low-res, pixilated road, with text that was perfectly legible.  It took me a few tries to be able to edit the image down to the size where I needed it with a certain standard of clarity.  I would say that photo editing certainly isn’t my expertise but it was great being able to learn the basics of Pixlr as it seems to be very similar to most other photo editing software.

Leave a comment